Welcome back to Poetry Box – Term 4 – I am on the road, and in the air, have a delicious surprise from Gecko Press and have a terrific challenge for you

photo

Look what has just arrived in my post box — a gorgeous bundle of books from Gecko Press. I can’t wait to read them and tell you about them. I started reading Shhh! I’m Sleeping immediately and started oohing and aaahing on every page. It is a gorgeous, gorgeous book. Thank you Gecko Press. And I am taking Barbara Else‘s book with me this week on plane ride number one! Will let you know what I think.

 

This term I am going to be away so often, I won’t be able to post every Monday. I am off to Gisborne, Dunedin, Queenstown, Stewart Island and Marlborough. It will be lucky dip time on Poetry Box so keep your eyes out for my posts and surprises. I will post challenges here and there, along with other poetry things.

I am giving you a challenge with a long deadline so you can get busy my poetry idea.

 

I have a copy of The Treasury to give away, a book voucher for a child and a book voucher for a class that sends a class set.

 

Your     M o o d   P o e m s   and  editing challenge!

 

  1. Try writing a little suite ( a bunch!)  of mood poems where you never say what the mood is.

2. Collect detail and words before you write each poem.

3. Your challenge is to find good detail to give clues to the mood.

4. You might show the mood of a place or an event or a person or a memory.

5. I am challenging you to write poems that sound good when I read them aloud.

6. I want you to do a careful editing job on these poems to find the best words for the job.

7. Put the poem away for a week then go back to it. I put mine away for months!

8. Which words can you improve?

9. Test out three endings. What does the ending do to the reading?

10. Test your similes.

11. Test out three titles.

12. Give it to a friend and get them to describe the mood of the poem to you.

13. Read your poem aloud and listen for the bits that sound great and no quite so good.

14. All the poems might explore tha same mood in different ways or take a different mood each time.

15. Play with how you set the poem out (the form of the poem). try standard ways, try inventive ways.

 

DEADLINE for your Mood-Poems Challenge: Friday November 13th

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email.

PLEASE say it’s for the Mood-Poem challenge. Put in the subject line of the email please.

I will post my favourites and have a book for a poet (Year 0 to Year 8) and a book voucher for another poet and a class.

 

 

happy poem days

from Paula Green

One thought on “Welcome back to Poetry Box – Term 4 – I am on the road, and in the air, have a delicious surprise from Gecko Press and have a terrific challenge for you

Leave a Reply

