My Stewart Island visit was heaven – my photo diary

If I had thought about it, I would have tried to arrange a visit to the school on Stewart Island. But I didn’t sadly.

Stewart Island is heaven. What a wonderful place to visit. Great people, great walks, fabulous birds, yummy food, lots of ideas for poems. Here is a little photo diary of my time there.

We got a small plane over from Invercargill – an eight-seater. I could touch the pilot and see him twiddling the dials. It was amazing looking down at the rumpled ocean. I was a little bit scared on the way over so wore my sun glasses but was no way scared on the way back.

photo 1 photo 3

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

 

We did a short walk from Golden Bay to Depp Cove and saw lots of birds. It rained, it hailed, it gusted and the sun came out.

And a long walk to Port William and back (seven hours!). This was magnificent. There were lots of steep hills with lots of steep steps.  Again the wind gusted and the rain rained and the sun shone. Beautiful beaches. I wanted to dive in and swim!
photo 3

There were obstacles  on our big walk to cross and water falls to admire. There was even a swingy swing bridge.

photo 1 photo 3 photo 2

photo 4 photo 1

We had a magnificent view where we were staying and when we put chopped apple in the bowl the kaka came. I loved the way they did little lamb leaps over each other.

photo 3 photo 3 photo 2

When we got off the plane we went straight to the kai Cart for a feed of the freshest fish and chips in the world. Yum!

photo 2

After my seven hour walk I was up for a sweet treat —  a honeyed pear. It was divine!

photo

 

We went to the museum but we weren’t allowed to take photos so I can’t show you the really cool model dinghy a twelve-year old boy made. But I can show you the stone cottage a man built for his family (nine children who slept in bunk beds so they could all fit!).

photo 1

 

What a fabulous time away. Now I am ready to back my bags for my trip to Gisborne on Monday where I am off to a school. I most definitely want to go back to Stewart Island! The people are so friendly. I loved it and am now full of Stewart Island happiness.

photo 3 photo 3 photo 1

One thought on “My Stewart Island visit was heaven – my photo diary

Leave a Reply

