Visiting Ormond School in Gisborne – what a treat

This week I am visiting the North Island winner of the Fourth Fabulous Poetry Competition for Children. Ormond School is about 20 kms from Gisborne. A darling little country school.

Yesterday I did a session with all the students in the hall and then workshops. Spectacular. I

love the way the children pitch in to poetry. I love the way the teachers pitch in during the workshops. I can’t wait to share some of their fabulous writing. It helps to have Sarah (a teacher) and Penny (the Principal) so passionate about poetry.

I love the way they made tomato soup with herbs from the school garden for my lunch.

I arrived on Monday and went for a walk along the boardwalk at Waikanae Beach then got a hot potato with coleslaw at mid way beach. Perfect as the wind was wild and whippy. Everyone is on a big mission to clear the wood that has washed up on the sand. Wow! What a job.

And I am getting lots of ideas for poems here.

A big thanks to The NZ Book Council for supporting my trip. Thank you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

