The joys and jumps of Queen Charlotte Track – a poet goes walking – and a little letter challenge

Just over a week ago, I got to walk the Queen Charlotte Track and it was utterly amazing. I felt like at every step my boots and pockets filled with little poems.

 

I wondered if this has ever happened to you! Let me know. Will post your letter about a time that filled you with poetry. paulajoygreen@gmail.com

So now I am busy writing little poems. I am glad I have this inspiration because on Day Three I fractured my foot! It was a wild and stormy day and I thought trees might blow over. I even came to a sign that said in gales trees might blow over and land on you. Scary! Twice I slipped on wet rocks and twisted my foot.

I had to walk for six hours on my sore foot (already walked for four) which was tough but I made up some cool poem games in my head which took my mind off the pain.

I would love to walk the track again but in glorious weather because Day Three was a symphony of grey not dazzling blue as far as the eye can see.

But this was such a cool thing to do. My mind is buzzing. Which is good as now I am stuck resting my foot up for ages. Perfect time to read and write in my notebook.

So here some photos from my best walking holiday ever!

 

IMG_2716

We got to see heaps of dolphins on the mail boat over but

IMG_2736

my favourite was the seal wanting to swim like a dolphin. I get to see the lumbery seals on the sand at Bethells but such GRACE when they swim in the water.

IMG_2749

The start of the walk at Ship’s Cove filled me with voices from the past.

 

IMG_2754

Great views on Day one and

IMG_2756

surprising things on the path. We came across a bulldozer in the middle of nowhere and had to squeeze past.

 

IMG_2760

A cheeky weka after my lunch!

IMG_2758

More spectacular views!

IMG_2765

I wanted to dive into the water at Endeavour inlet but the wind was whippety and cool.

IMG_2772

I love salmon for dinner. YUM!!

IMG_2773

Does anyone ever ring this bell?

IMG_2778

A welcome dog like a welcome mat!

IMG_2780

Not scared of this swing bridge!

IMG_2793

A strange wee shop in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_2796

A cool chair in the middle of nowhere and my trusty stick that got me home!

IMG_2816

The dog that meets the mail boat and gets a dog biscuit!

IMG_2835

Loved these signs just when I needed them Someone put their signature on them too! Little art works.

IMG_2850

The storm day with rain and grey and

IMG_2849

gales! Poetry games in my head now one foot after the sore other!

 

IMG_2861

This is what we woke up to after the storm. Now to get home to Auckland on one foot (boat, car, plane, car) !

IMG_2878

Sad to leave on Day Four! The sun is now shining! Beautiful boat ride.

IMG_2885Made it to Blenheim with my stick for

IMG_2880

 

yummo pizza lunch.

 

IMG_2887

Air NZ was so helpful and let my stick goes as luggage so I could walk with it in Auckland. They gave me a wheel-chair ride to the plane which was fun.

So now I am resting up in a moon boot and whizzing on crutches while my bone mends.

I have lots to read and lots to write. So as they say it could be worse!

It was an AMAZING holiday and I do hope you get there one day if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

