Here are the winners from The Ruapehu Writers Festival Poetry Competition for Children

IMG_3168

While writers and readers filled the Powderhorn to the brim in Ohakune at the Ruapehu Writers Festival local children were writing poems.

I spent a fabulous morning visiting Ohakune Primary School, did a session with children at the festival and offered to judge a local poetry competition for children.

With so many of the poems singing the praises of the mountains, I felt I was right back in this beautiful location. That is what words can do – so thank you for making your special place sing.

I especially loved the poems that sounded good and that used strong detail. But poems can do anything!

My tip: Listen to every line as you write a poem!

I loved all the poems. It was very very hard to pick winners to post on the blog.

Congratulations if I picked you but I loved all the poems. You could try my monthly challenges on Poetry Box.

 

 

T  h  e       R   e  s  u  l  t  s

 

 

Years 1 to 2 I loved all these poems. They show you only need a few words to make something special! It was very very hard to choose. I read them all aloud to see which ones sounded extra good and which made an extra fabulous picture in my head.

First Place (Chase):

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 3.22.08 PM

 

 

Second Place (Paige):

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 3.23.49 PM.png

 

Third Place (Ariana):

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 3.25.01 PM.png

 

 

 

Years 3 to 4 I love the sound of Jaydah’s poem when I say it out loud. Short poems can be very sweet and this one is! Georgia has found some excellent words for a porridge poem. I felt like I was eating a scrumptious bowl of porridge. I really enjoyed the flow of Lawrence’s poem and the excellent choice of words.

 

First Place (Jaydah-Lee):

 

Athletics Day

Zooming down the track.

Jumping like a kangaroo.

I threw a shot-put.

Jaydah-Lee Ioannidis, 7, Year 3-4, Ohakune Primary School

 

 

Second Place (Georgia):

 

Porridge

Porridge

Hot milk

Bubbling slimy gloopy

Sticky stiff thick sweet

Steamy banana creamy

Sweet yummy

Porridge

Georgia Gowland-Douglas, 7, Year 3-4, Ohakune Primary School

 

Third Place (Lawrence):

 

Athletics Day

Running fast, puffing.

Hot and sunny at the high jump.

Zooming down the track.

Lawrence Reyes, 7, Year 3-4.

 

 

 Years 5 to 6 Some of these poems are full of energy and some are very quiet. I love the way Joshua’s poem flits across the page like running water. It has great details and great music. I love the way Maraea’s poem uses repetition and plays with how many words go on the line. I love the simplicity of Kodo’s poem and the surprising ending. It was too hard to pick in this category I have posted two extra Highly Commended poems. Both show a great use of rhythm and terrific detail.

 

First Place (Joshua):

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 3.33.01 PM.png

 

 

Second Place (Maraea):

 

River Swimming 2016

As I stepped onto the gooey rock,

it felt as if I was going to slip over.

 

I leaped in the freezing cold river

cold, cold, cold.

 

Swimming over to the black wet rope

it felt like I was climbing a big mountain of moss.

 

Splashes every now and then.

Splash!

Smack!!

That looks painful!

Maraea Buckingham Year 5, Ohakune Primary School

 

 

 

Third Place (Kodo):

 

Dashing through the rapids

 

Dashing through the rapids

snowy, white crystal, clear water

over rocks we go

whistling everywhere.

Whio whio over there,

not here we’re not everywhere.

 

Kodo Drayton Year 5, Ohakune Primary School

 

 

Highly Commended (Jorja):

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 3.41.22 PM.pngJorja Pearce, Year 6, Ohakune Primary School

 

 

Highly Commended (Hunter):

 

Blue Duck

I’m blue duck

swimming in the river.

 

Rapids are quick

but I can handle it.

 

I can blend in

with the rocks and the river,

so humans can’t find me.

Hunter Anderson Year 5, Ohakune Primary School

 

 

 

Years 7 to 8 These poems show how you can take the same subject and come up with such different results. I love the repeating lines in Keri and Kiana’s poems and the strong detail. They have chosen a great pattern.I like the use of the alphabet to frame the poem in Hayley’s. Another interesting pattern for a poem.

 

First Place (Kiana):

 

I Am Ruapehu

I am beautiful and scenic

I wonder if I could walk around

I hear the song of a jaybird

I see the sky a touch away

I want my snow never to melt away

I am beautiful and scenic

 

I pretend I am covered in a white lace veil

I feel the the cars tickling my toes

I touch the clouds

I worry my insides are blistering hot!

I cry when summer comes

I am beautiful and scenic

 

I understand my snow must melt away

I say I have a breathtaking life

I dream for a bluebird day

I try not to erupt

I hope to one day see the world

I am beautiful and scenic

Kiana Little, Age 11, Year 7, National Park School

 

Second Place (Hayley):

Ruapehu

As I ski down the freezing cold mountain the Beautiful blue sky above me.

Courageous ski patrol people, Doing racing. Enjoying the snow, having

Fun, Getting cold, Horrible crashes, Icy slopes as the skies scratch the ice,

Jumps, Kind people helping others out. The Crater Lake, what a beautiful

sight, Many people go there every day, No one sad Or mad, People love

Mount Raphehu. Skiers Quickly ski down the mountain, Rocks cover the

mountain in the summer, Snow shimmering in the distance, To many

people at times, Unbelievable, Views, Wonderful slopes, Xrays are often

needed, Yummy food is provided at New Zealand’s highest café, Zig zaggy

slopes are the only way to go.

 Hayley Church, Age 12, Year 8, National Park School

 

Third Place (Keri):

 

Ruapehu

I am in love with Mt Ruapehu

I wonder if the snow will ever disappear

I hear skis crunching on ice

I see white fluffy snow everywhere

I want to never leave this wonderful land

I am in love with Mt Ruapehu

 

I pretend I am riding horses when I ski

I feel the sharp sting of the cold

I touch the freezing snow and cold rocks

I worry for when the summer comes

I cry, no longer when I crash

I am in love with Mt Ruapehu

 

I understand now that winter has to end

I say snow is amazing

I dream that I will eventually win a race

I try to win at ski races

I hope I do win one day

I am in love with Mt Ruapehu

Keri Baker, Age 12, Year 8, National Park School

 

 

Thank you for this wonderful chance to reach a whole bunch of poems from Ruapehu District. I loved it!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Here are the winners from The Ruapehu Writers Festival Poetry Competition for Children

Leave a Reply

