an extra handful of imagination

 

I was very excited to get a selection of imagination poems from Room 4 at Pauatahanui School in Wellington because when I was training to be a teacher a very very very long time ago I did my sole-charge section at this school. I was in charge of the whole class for a whole month before I headed out to my own class the next year. It was such a lovely school in a lovely setting.

Room 4 missed the deadline but I felt I just had to break my rule for them and post a few poems. I loved the playful rhyme, the acrobatic words and the zing-pop imaginations. The class had fun writing these!

The students are Y3-4, aged 7-9.

 

 

What if dogs were as damp as hogs?

What if clogs when on dogs?
What if hogs were as big as dogs?
What if hogs were as smart as dogs?
What if mats were as smart as cats?

What if cats were as scary as bats?
What if my cat had a hat?
What if a bat ate my cat?
What if a fly was as big as a fox?

What if John Key lived in a box?
What if I had really stinky socks?
What if I had lots of clocks?

All of this could be true

I just have to believe and you do too!

 Marcus S

 

What if?

What if trees were as flat as pancakes?

What if animals always ate cornflakes?

What if dogs had pet cats?

What if people ate their mats?

 

What if he was as small as a bee?

What if you could be me?

What if everyone road in paper boats?

What if everybody forgot their goats?

 

What if pencils were as smart as foxes?

What if houses came in boxes?

What if I had a pet bat?

What if I slipped on hats?

 

All of these things could actually come true

I just have to believe and you do too!

Ashleigh G

 

What if?              

What if bats were as fast as horses?

What if elephants had to do courses?

What if salt ruled the world?

What if there was no dream world?

 

What if dictionaries could fly like bees?

What if trees lived in seas?

What if dinosaurs came back to life?

What if no one had a wife?

 

What if a hat was as calm as a cat?

What if I went splat?

What if taxi drivers were dolphins?

What if everyone lived near goblins?

All of these things could actually come true

I just have to believe and you do to!

Giarna O

 

 What if ?   

What if a cow was as hot as a stove?

What if Wellington was as pretty as Cathedral Cove?

What if sparklers never glow?

What if plants never grow?

 

What if plastic was as hard as rock?

What if crystals were as smelly as socks?

What if flashlights were as dark as caves?

What if sloths were as fast as waves?

 

What if turtles were as fast as rockets?

What if sharks were as powerful as sockets?

What if lighting was as slow as snails?

What if clothes were as wet as wails?

 

All of these things could actually come true,

I just have to believe and you do too!

Leave a Reply

