Last of year: Poetry Box November Challenge: something summery and something small (and a Gecko Annual challenge)

 

This is the last challenge for the year! Thank you so much for reading my posts, following my tips, reading the reviews, trying the challenges and sending me letters and poems.

w o n d e r f u l

 

It has been an excellent year for poetry. I especially liked all the classes that sent in work. I could see the poetry buzz and the fun you had writing and reading. The poems have been magnificent.

 

s t u p e  n d o u s

 

I have agonised on what to set for our last challenge this year. So I am going to offer you two. I will have a book for each challenge. I will do two separate posts. Remember this is NOT a competition – it is all about the joy of writing!

My top tip: Don’t send the poem the day you write it. Leave it for a few days, edit it and then send.

 

w a i t    w o n  d e r        w a n d e r

 

l o o k    at my post on the Gecko Press Annual and find  my challenge to review it  (I have a book token for someone!)  Deadline November 10th         !!!!!!!!!!!!       **********

 

l  i    s   t   e   n

 

Challenge Number One: a set topic

Try writing a poem about summer.

Before you write hunt for summer things.

Use your senses to find words.

Make a chain of interesting summer words. Pick your favourites to put in the poem.

Link three summer words together. Make a pattern poem with summer words.

Hunt for a summer memory.

Imagine a summer you would love.

Paint a picture of summer with words.

Listen to every line and do a sound check.

Find some sizzling summer similes to use.

Hunt for things you to do in summer or eat.

What about the place you like to go in summer?

What is your favourite summer mood? Write a poem and hide that mood in the poem for me to guess.

 

 

Challenge Number Two: small poems

I love writing poems that use only a handful of words.

Every word has to count.

Your poem might paint a little picture.

Does it sound good?

You could try writing a couplet poem: just two lines that might hide or use tricky rhyme or no rhyme.

You could try writing a haiku: 3 lines and can be 5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables (doesn’t usually rhyme).

You could try writing a limerick.

You could write a small poem that is surprising.

You could write a small poem that is funny.

You could write a small poem that is thoughtful.

You could write a small poem that makes a pattern with words.

 

 

SEND your poem to paulajoygreen@gmail.com

DEADLINE Monday November 28th

Include your name, age, year and name of school. You can include your teacher’s email if you like.

P l e a s e    p u t   ‘Summer poem’ or ‘Small poem’ in the subject line of your email.

I will pick some favourites to post on the blog and have a book for at least two readers and maybe even a book for a class.

I will do two posts on  Wednesday 3oth November.

Leave a Reply

