November challenge: my very favourite small poems that blew my socks off

Our second November challenge (we had two as it is the last challenge of the year) was to write small poems.

I loved reading these. I loved the way you showed how many different things you can do with  a handful of words.

Small poems can be busy or simple.

Small poems can sound good and look good.

I also loved the poems that told little stories.

 

t h e s e    p o  e m s

b   l   e   w

m y             w  i n t e r       s  o  c  k  s

 

o     f     f       !

 

I have picked just a HANDFUL to post but I LOVED  them all.

I am sending a copy of The Letter Box Cat to Jack and a book of Laura Ranger’s poems she published when she was a child to Erica.

Tomorrow I will post my poetry challenges for the summer holidays.

 

h  a p  p y   p o e m     d a y s    – thanks wonderful young poets!

 

Haiku

Rain drives leaves off trees

Blocking drains and causing floods

Puddles become lakes

Gemma L, Age 10, Year 6, Adventure School

 

Three short poems from Daniel:

 

Small Poem

We need to protect the sea

Or there will be nothing left to see

Do you see my point

 

Haiku (my first time doing Haiku – I used the book you sent us J )

The rain lashes down

The region now an island

In a moat of mud

 

The Big Wet

It rained and rained and rained

And blocked up all the drains

Flooding all around

No one could get to town

But walking in the wet is cool

So I packed my bag and went to school

Daniel, Age 8, Year 3, Adventure School

 

 

 

Summer

Salty chips

Salt sticks

By Jack F, Age 10, Year 5, Methven School

 

The underground

The pebbles on the cracked brown concrete
rattles as the train comes to a screeching halt
beside the yellow line.

Erica B, Selwyn House School 13 Years Year 8

 

Playing in the waves

Splashing

Sprinting

Panting

Breathless

By Ella M, Age 10, Year 5, Methven school

 

The Golden Castle on an Island

A shiny

Golden castle

Stands

On a sandy island

A boy

Makes a rainbow

Like the sun

 

By Lily P, 7 years old, Ilam School

 

 

London House

The tall

London house,

as old as the stone

in it’s fireplace,

with its warm,

pine tree smell.

Isis W, Selwyn House School, Year 8, Age 13

 

Fiji

Fiji,
the clear ocean,
little waves crash on my toes.

Maddie S, Selwyn House, Year 8, 12 Years old

 

Raratonga

The sun illuminates the the roof of the sea
stretching out towards the coral.
The relaxing hum of the waves
lures me into the water.

Emma C, age 11, Year 7, Selwyn House, Christchurch

 

Germany

Excitedly as I bound up the steps and hug my grandparents,

My other relatives come up the steps.

When we come to my grandparents I look through the back fence.

There’s the neighbour’s dog as usual.

Our visit was as special as my birth.

Xenia, age 9, Fendalton School

 

The tree

Stretches its branches into the sky

It plays with children as they grab its branches

It’s so tough with a mighty heart

Surprising a loud Hack!

And it falls

Down

Down

Down. . .

By: Iris H, Fendalton Open Air School

 

 

Patterns

Triangle, square, circle.
Triangle, square, circle.

Patterns, shapes,
In my head, on my paper.
Repeating around,
Echoing around,
Patterns, patterns,
Never disappear.

Ysabella H Year 5 Age: 9 Ilam Primary School

 

Ko Sumi

The island is as yellow as
an autumn tree.
Fish ride waves at night.
They are nippy hunters.

By Josh P Age 12 Medbury School

Leave a Reply

