Poetry Box popUP Poem challenge: Matariki poems by children

The Kai Stars of Matariki, Miriama Kamo and Zac Waipapa
Scholastic, 2024, also available in te reo Māori

My Matariki Colouring & Activity Book, illustrated by Isobel Joy Te Aho-White
Scholastic 2024

Author Miriama Kamo and illustrator Zak Waipapa have created a terrific followup to their popular picture books, The Stolen Stars of Matariki and The Twin Stars of Matariki. In The Kai Stars of Matariki, it’s time to give thanks to Tupuānuku and Tupuārangi, the stars linked to the growing of kai in and above the ground. The story is set in Te Mata Hāpuku Birdling’s Flat, AKA the ‘best place in the world’ where lizards dart, waves smash and the cliffs are jagged. Sam and Te Rerehua often visit Grandma and Pōua who live there.

My Matariki Colouring & Activity Book is based on the #1 bestseller Matariki Around the World, by Rangi Matamua and Miriama Kamo. So many different activities for you to try: colouring in along with join the dots, drawings to do, word finds, words to complete, star patterns to create, recipes to try, crafts to create, plus many many more. The activities will take you on a Matariki journey. I love this fun-filled craft-action book!

What a glorious glittering dazzling sparkling awe-inspiring cluster of Matariki poems arrived in my inbox. What a treat to read them …. it was so hard to pick only a few to post so on this special occasion I have assembled a stellar Matariki poetry festival by and for children. Please don’t be sad if you missed out this time as I will be doing a feast of popUP challenges in Term 3 and have loads more blog ideas twinkling in my head.

Special thanks to the artists at Westmere School.

It’s not a poetry competition but I am giving books to Mushal and Bellamia. I wanted to give you ALL a copy of the ultra cool Matariki colouring / activity book!

Watch out for more popUP poem challenges next term.

There was an issue with my email address when I first posted this challenge it is paulajoygreen@gmail.com

Some galaxy art from Junior School at Westmere School

Dear Grandad (a poem for Matariki)

Dear Grandad,

The bed creaked
as you turned
your fragile body

You scratched your sandpaper-like skin
your joyful smile
enlightened the room

while the soft wind
kissed your cheek

you got older day by day
while telling your priceless stories
you loved to tell

you loved eating
thick ice cream
that made your teeth sting

your memory
was like dust
easily swept away

I wish I could’ve said goodbye

I love you, Grandad

 by Mushal F, Year 8, Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School

Matariki at Pohara beach

The skin of the ocean 
wrinkling the breeze.
The eyes of the wind skipping
on the sand. 
I walk into the shallows,
Waitā holds me close.
Matariki’s breath brings warmth.

Raphe, Y8, age 12,  Medbury School

Magical Matariki

Magical Matariki stars
Appearing in early June
Twinkling in the moonlight
Arriving with all its siblings
Reminding us of the people we have lost
I appear once a year
Keeping voyagers safe on journeys
I’m symbolising the earth’s elements.

Sailor A, age 9, Richmond Rd School

Matariki Light

Matariki guides kiwi to their homes in the forest.
Matariki guides me to my family.
She lights my way I write her this poem.

Iris Li, age 7, St Andrew’s School

The Brightest Star

Matariki, the brightest born star
I see you even from afar
The keeper of peace and family
I say goodbye to you sadly
I see your beautiful woven cloak
The stars I know about, everyone has spoke
Your loving and caring nature
Your brave and daring dedication
Matariki, my favourite star
and born from Tāwhiremātea
The sweet and nourishing mother
A star brighter than all the others
Matariki, the brightest star
Rests in the heavens above. 

Thomas E, age 9, Richmond Rd School

Matariki Feast

Wake up early to see the stars shine
Make sure to bring food for a fabulous feast
Bring eels as a meal
But eels don’t have good eyesight
So eeling is not done
When the moon is shining bright
Potatoes with tomatoes
Chicken and rice
Is very nice
Remember those who have passed away
On this Matariki day.

Portia B Age 9, Westmere School

Matariki

Matariki mother of all stars Looks like fireflies in jars
Up in the starry night There you are glowing bright
Silently shining in the sky The time is over, time to say….
Goodbye

Chloe K, 10 years old, Y6 Te Kura o Ritimana

Ururangi

The eighth star shines above like a dazzling piece of art
The “Wind of the Sky” sparkles right up high
It all started with you Ururangi.

But overall, the brightest of them all is Matariki.

Louise, Richmond Road School Age 10, Y6

Matariki

Matariki is near
The shining cluster of stars above
Brings good health and peace to the people we love Matariki is near
Time to hide away my fear
Up in the dark sky the stars are shining like never before.

Kenzie G, 10, Y6, Richmond Road School

Hiwai-i-te-rangi | Star

i can see you
through the night
glistening

twinkling
waiting
watching from above

are you
part of one of those many
clusters
we learnt about
in class?

i wouldn’t have
a clue
but
you are
glamorous

i open up my arms
and wish
to you
star

Oliver P, Year 8, age 13 yrs Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School

Matariki

Matariki stars shine bright starlight
They only come out once a year
On our Māori New Year
We celebrate our culture in June
We have delicious food 
Cooked in stone and dirt
We hope they stay forever
to light the darkest sky.

Stella M Age 8, Westmere School

Matariki Haiku

Stars stars everywhere
Some stars twinkle, some stars shine
In ink black night sky!

Theo H age 9, Richmond Rd School

Ururangi

Ururangi seventh born, blowing the winds
We see you up in the sky
You guide the winds and make the day fresh
Blowing the fear away
Ururangi, the mother of wind.

Sam W age 10, Richmond Rd School

Matariki

Matariki is the Mother star
The leader of the sky
She guides the waka
over rough seas.

Matariki tells the moon
to cover the sun
Shining when she is happy
dull when she is sad
Matariki, 
the Mother of the galaxy,
the rest of space.

Harriet, age 8, St Andrew’s School

Waitā

Waitā
Star of the waves
The oceans and its creatures

Wai is for waters
Tā is for salt
Waitā is for salt waters

Leigh F, 10 years old, Y6 Richmond Road School

Matariki

Me and my family were on holiday
Hugo was playing a game and I was
looking for Matariki, today I found it

Remy O, 9 years old, Year 5, Richmond Road School

Gifts From Matariki

Hiwa-i-te-Rangi youngest of them all
made my wish come true
and gave me a soccer ball
Waitī brought me a fish
and Waitā washed my dish
then Waipunga-a-Rangi made a waterfall.

George T age 10, Richmond Rd School

The Wishing Star

Hiwa-i-ti-Rangi
Wishing for people
Hiwa-i-ti-Rangi
In the night sky
Bright and shiny
like a giant night light
For the people to navigate
and the people who want their loved ones to be safe
and bright for the ones who are in a dark cave
Hiwa-i-ti-Rangi is the wishing star
Hiwa-i-ti-Rangi is ready for the people
who want to be happy.

Bellamia R age 10, Richmond Rd School

Matariki Stars

Matariki stars shine bright in the night.
Matariki stars are hot, and there are a lot.
Matariki stars are mighty bright and Waitī white.
Matariki stars glow, putting on a show, like Woah!
Matariki stars are such a sight, such a delight.
Matariki stars are close to Mars, which is large.
Matariki stars are light as they take flight.
Matariki stars start small, then stand tall.
Matariki stars binkle, tinkle, linkle, sprinkle, finkle and twinkle.
Matariki stars shine bright in the night.

By Sadie G age 7, Stella C age 6, Oscar D age 7, Leah J age 6 and Lavinia L age 6, Westmere School

Matariki Riddle

I’m a phantom at day
at night I’m shining bright
I’m named after a flower
blossoming red light.
(pōhutukawa)

Liam P, age 10, Richmond Rd School

Matariki Kai

Cooking stones 
Were used
About 1000 years ago
By Māori
Who used them
To cook 
A Matariki feast…
Eels
Pork
Kūmara
Potatoes
Chicken
Cabbage
And…
Moa!
Which is 
Delish!

George E, Age 8, Westmere School

Who Am I?

I’m from up high
and I’ve got delicious fruit
Who am I?
What am I?
Got green on me 
but mostly brown
but I never can do a frown
Who am i?
What am I?
Now finally 
I can be tall
But at the end, I fall.
Who am I?
What am I?
Tell me…
Who am I?
What am I?
(Tupuārangi)

Willow T, age 8, Richmond Rd School

Waitā, the Beautiful Star

Far away in the deep and shallow seas
appears Waitā, a beautiful and shining star
from salt water
When she appears 
the incredible and golden sand
up on the shore
and on the beach
waits to start glowing.

Jade B, age 9, Richmond Rd School

Matariki

Matariki is a special holiday
In which you celebrate with people,
Even though they’re far away,
The stars shine, dazzling in the sky

It’s the Maori New Year
Super special and bright,
Shining through the atmosphere
Are the Matariki stars.

You’re the special cluster,
You bring good fortune and luck,
You have a magical lustre,
You make me awestruck.

Ngā mihi o Matariki, te tau hou Māori!

Andrea S, 10 years old, Year 6, Richmond Road School

by Sadie, Westmere School

by Finnbar, Westmere School

2 thoughts on “Poetry Box popUP Poem challenge: Matariki poems by children

  1. Pingback: Poetry Shelf celebrating Matariki | NZ Poetry Shelf

Leave a comment