Tarra tarra tumtum do dobedo: The Third Fabulous Poetry Competition results

blk on wht horz logo

Catriona Ferguson, the Director of the New Zealand Book Council, joined me last week to help select the winners for The Third Fabulous Poetry Competition. We both felt it was a wonderful way to spend a morning.

I had made a long list of fifty schools that submitted exciting entries. With much reading and thinking, I had then selected three finalists in each region. It was tough job as there were standout poems every way I looked. In the end, I returned to my competition brief and selected schools that sent quality writing in a range of ages and styles. Once I got down to around 20 schools, I took into account editing as well as poetic zim. My three finalists all submitted poems that made me go ‘aah!’ ‘amazing’ ‘lovely’—just like when you watch fireworks.

Today I am posting the names of the finalists and the winners.

On Tuesday I will post a selection of poems from the winning schools.

On Thursday I will post some standout poems  that I loved in my long list of 50 schools.

The winning schools get a two-day visit from me courtesy of The New Zealand Book Council and a year’s membership to the organisation if they don’t have one.

Congratulations to the finalists and the winners. A special mention to West End School. I will scan and post some of your poems as yours were my favourite presentations. Bravo!

 

Auckland

Gladstone School, Mt Albert    Winner

Green Bay Primary School

Point View School, Howick

 

North Island

Te Aro School, Wellington   Winner

Onekawa School, Napier

West End School, Palmerston North

 

South Island

Russley School, Christchurch   Winner

Lower Moutere School, Nelson

Arrowtown School

 

 

Leave a comment