Poetry Box May challenge: Russley School’s astonishing Bubble Time poems

 

DSCN9887

The sea making bubbles at Bethells Beach / Te Henga

 

To wrap up my Bubble Time on Poetry Box I invited children to write a poem to show someone in the future what it was like to be in lockdown. None of us have experienced anything like it. Everything felt different. Some things become ever so much more precious and some things just didn’t matter.

Six students from Russley School in Christchurch sent me these poems. I have been posting lists of comfort books picked my New Zealanders on my other blog Poetry Shelf for three months (final one posted yesterday). I have read some extraordinary books since Level 4 but nothing has affected me as deeply as reading these poems.

I love the way the poems come from experience, from heart, from the most bewildering unsettling time many of us ever known. These poems sing, they have made me smile and almost cry. I am so grateful to have read them.

I am sending each young poet a copy of Groovy Fish.

 

 

T h e     s  e v e n    b u b b l e    t i m e     p o e m s

 

 

 

Best Bits of Bubble Time | by Finn B

 

Spending time with my dog

and sleep ins

going on more runs with my mum

running like a bolt of lightning

with my dog

 

chopping down a tree with a chainsaw

creeping up behind and scaring my Dad

he roared like a tiger

 

building a hut with chairs and pillows

rushing around my dad’s house

to chase my dog

like a bull shark swimming

at 10,000 kilometers per hour

 

 

 

My Bubble | By Henry P 7yrs

 

More schoolwork, no escape!

Yolks of an egg, in a bowl for baking.

 

Beds all cosy, lots of sleep-ins.

Underneath the hut roof we played.

Bits of leaves in my hair, from jumping in a leaf pile.

Bike rides on bumpy tracks.

Lego, lego, lego.

Everyday felt the same.

 

 

 

bubble time | Willow R

 

the worst thing that happened

in my bubble time

was having to stay with my sister all day

and not seeing my friends

 

that but I learned to shoot a hoop backwards

like a professional

 

I was flowing like a leaf in the air

I was flipping on the trampoline

like a champion.

 

 

 

Lockdown | Oliver P

 

When we went into lockdown,

I was sad and very happy

To spend time with all my family,

But I was also scared

 

I didn’t know what was happening,

I was worried for the world

But that didn’t stop me,

From having fun

 

For 6 long weeks,

I had to stay at home

No takeaways, no shops open,

I felt like it was never going to end

 

Me and My family did lots of things,

Playing board games and saving lots of money

At some point into lockdown

We even made some doughnuts

 

I knew this would be in history,

A concealed memory, deep down inside

We were doing well,

Just about there

 

With a few days to go,

We went back to school

Though things still weren’t normal,

I could still see my friends

 

 

 

Family Time | by James dW

 

Noisy dog yapping at

12pm like a smoke alarm

 

Irritating brother

yelling in my ear

like someone dragging a

chair across the ground

 

Extreme baking

like Nadia Lim

 

 

Bubble Time Fun | by Isaac E

 

Pouncing over the creek

at Crosbie Park like a jaguar

leaping for their prey

 

stretching my legs

after big tiring walks

like baby elephants

 

chucking the ball for the dog

like a bowling ball

 

dashing around the block

like Jesse Owens

 

 

 

Extreme Bubble Time | Annabelle K

 

Missing my friends was really hard

like Esther

she is one of my best friends

Esther is as beautiful as a shimmery star in the blue sky.

 

Searching for my brother and sister

like an owl hunting for scurrying mice hiding in a rubbish bin

Cooking like a master chef in a 5 star restaurant

acting like Patrick Dempsey

 

playing mum and dad with little sister (was not good)

climbing like a super spy up a tree

to get sight of the roof

(because there was a bird nest)

 

Hiding like a robber stealing precious jewels

in the eerie dark city.

Running like a super athlete

bolting across the sprinting track.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment