Poetry Box Library Listening Corner: Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School read three poems Manhire Green & Drumheller

Poetry Box is running an ongoing series where school, city and National librarians read poems, sometimes with the help of students. Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School read poems by Paula Green, Bill Manhire and Doc Drumheller. And! as a special bonus a group of children were inspired to write their pwn library poems. Magnificent! I love how libraries are gateways into other worlds, times, experiences and imaginations. Precious places indeed. Thank you!

Sparkling Universe

I open the door
and the wonderful smell of books
draws me in.

Characters creep
out of their books
longing to bring me into their world.

I want to find out
about tales of girls and their horses
running from home
and dangerous adventures
across sparkling ice.

The magic of books
fills my lungs
as I open a book the world
turns off like a lamp
and I am transported
to another universe.

by Bernadette S, 9 years old

We love our library at Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School! It is a welcoming place for those who love to read, draw, dream or who just love a calm space, and it’s about to get even better next term. After many, many months of noise and disruption, our new library will be ready to move into and it’s going to be so exciting! I can’t wait to see the students’ reactions to their beautiful new space.

Mrs Miriam McCreanor (School Librarian)

The Library

The library is full of magical forests
fairies flying over sparkly bridges
where greedy ogres wait

unicorns with shiny horns
dogs barking at villains
cats hissing at disguised bag guys
shrinking girls climbing hay bales

and me,
in the library pit,
reading

by Mea (age 7) and Scarlett (age 8)

‘The Tūī’, Paula Green, from The Letterbox Cat, Scholastic, 2014


Read by Amber Hicks, Year 6, age 10
I love reading graphic novels and narratives. I love to play sports, especially hockey. I like reading books in my free time.

‘The Lid Slides Back’, Bill Manhire, from The Victims of Lightning, Te Herenga Waka University Press, 2010

Read by Zoe Wilson, Year 6, age 10
I like graphic novels and I like to write fantasy. I love to perform (acting) and play netball.

‘Orowaiti Road’, Doc Drumheller

Read by:

Adeleyn W, Year 7
I like reading comedy books that give you a laugh. I like doing crafts with my mum.

Max B
I am in Year 7 at Te Parito Kōwhai Russley School.

Ayla, Year 7
My name is Ayla and I like basketball and other sports. My favourite sport is artistic swimming. I love dogs and I have two siblings. I love my sleep, especially after a big day of swimming.

Emily H, Year 7
I’m Emily and I like basketball and photography. Sometimes I speak NZSL.

 

I walked into the school library and saw

robot dinos fighting,
a taniwha hovering around,
Lego people building,
a bunny hopping…
and my friends fainting!

by Bodhi Hill (age 7)

 

In the exciting library is

a greedy goblin
and a Star Wars robot
and the little yellow digger
and a giant Lego castle
and an evil scientist with its evil puppy
and the giant titanic
with a cat riding on it
and a giant green army
a cackly ghost
and a skydiver jumping out of a plane.
But… poor Mrs McCreanor…
she is getting chased
by a creeper!
Aaaaaah!

by Theo P, age 8

 

Party in the Library

Partying in the library is…
a giant taniwha boogying like cray
Baa Baa Black Belt chopping trees the size of mountains
and the little yellow digger
and a big T-Rex fossil
and Mrs McCreanor is…
running out!

by Lachlan H, age 7

 

In the dark library, there is

a humongous pirate
with a green and purple taniwha

and a tiny black ant
a humongous blue whale

and a scary big witch with a wand
and a yellow little digger

Mrs McCreanor is FREAKING OUT!

by Nico Meek (age 7)

 

In the Library

The library is a free place to be
surrounded by books
with stinky pirates ruling the land
big giants breaking down buildings
mysterious fairies hiding behind pages
the brave taniwha chasing the tuna
and Mrs McCreanor going crazy

by Bailey M, age 9

 

The library

The library is a gateway to a land of witches
riding on their dusty broomsticks
or a place in Rio where the bluebirds roam the land
or even the thrill of a green and purple taniwha chasing after you
and fairies helping Mrs McCreanor issue books
with their fairy dust.

Meera Sharma age 10

 

A Library is a Gateway

A library is a gateway
to a land of evil and goodness
where spells and battles happen.

A library is a gateway
to lead you into the 1400s
which was the time of olden castles
where there is a simple life for everyone.

There could be giants
when the library leads you deeper down
into the viscous chapter of World War One.
into the second chapter of the horrific World War Two.

The library leads you much deeper down
into the beginning of the old smoky 21 century
and even much deeper down you arrive at the brand new 21 century
where new vehicle arrivals enter are hybrids and electric.

And finally we are at the last adventure in the library
where we get to know how
will things look like in the future.

By Ammar, Year 5 age 10

Leave a comment