My favourite wind poems are very windy indeed!

 

 

Such a terrific bunch of poems arrived in my email box! So full of the wind it felt like my study got really windy. And it is still windy. I have picked a few of my favourites to post but don’t feel bad if you missed out this time as I had too many favourites this time!

Such good words to make the wind come alive in your poems. Short lines worked well. And so did longer lines! I loved the poems with good windy detail. Daniel used ‘w’ alliteration which made his poem even windier — and then made it LOOK windy on the page. He also made up a word — see if you can spot it. I loved the surprise of Anita’s poem and the fabulous sounding list that grows in Matthew’s. I also loved Natalie’s short lines. Very effective. Lucy’s terrific poem was strong on mood. Great job young poets!

I am sending a book to Matthew from Fendalton Open Air School in Christchurch.

 

The wildest winds

The wildest winds

Twist my hair up

Like a tornado

Above my head

And lets it fall

Loosely down again.

 

The wildest winds

Blow my dress

Out to the sides,

But nothing can

Blow me off my feet.

 

 

The roaring wind

The roaring winds go whoosh.

The roaring winds knot my hair

Like a dragon in its lair.

 

both by Imogen Campbell Age 7 Homeschooled

 

 

 

Screen shot 2015-05-31 at 3.04.34 PM

Name: Natalie H Age: 10 Year: 6 School: Fendalton Open Air School

 

The Constant Wind

The wind that blows the leaves to your front door

the wind that blows the waves on the sea

the wind that blows the grass on a mountain

the wind that blows on the feathers of an eagle

the wind that carries the howl of a wolf

is the wind that sounds like a beating heart.

by Matthew B 10 Fendalton Primary School, Christchurch, NZ.

 

Screen shot 2015-05-28 at 4.19.08 PM

Anita, Age 9, Year 5, Fendalton Open Air School

 

Screen shot 2015-05-28 at 4.15.29 PM

Lucy is currently in Year 8 at Selwyn House School, and is 12 years old

 

 

By Daniel Year 2 Aged 6 Adventure School

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 6.47.15 pm

 

 

 

Leave a comment