The moon in poems

This morning I woke up really early and I thought the light was on outside but it was a big bright moon.

I looked on the internet and I read that poets like to write poems about the moon. It was supposed to be a joke but it’s true.

I love the way when you see one moon you see moons everywhere.

I wondered how many moon poems there are in A Treasury of NZ poetry for Children. It was too cold to count. I remembered Becky, an ex Arrowtown-Primary-School student, has a terrific moon poem in the book.

I looked on the internet again and NZ poet, Rachel McAlpine had just posted a photo of the moon (about 6 am) and said ‘You’re still a supermoon to me.’

I called my last book of poems Macaroni Moon. ‘Imagine if the moon were made of cheese/ and cheese was made of moon.’

I have always loved writing moon poems.

 

9781869791513

Eat the Moon

The moon in the sky

tastes better than cheddar.

 

(That’s the whole poem! It’s from Macaroni Moon, Random House, 2009)

 

Have a go at writing a moon poem or a poem with a moon in it!

DEADLINE for your Moon-Poem Challenge: Monday 18th August

Send to paulajoygreen@gmail.com. Include your name, year, age and name of school. You can include your teacher’s name and email. PLEASE say it’s for the Moon-Poem challenge.

I will post my favourites from all the Moon-Poem Challenges and have a book prize for a poet (Year 0 to Year

 

 

Leave a comment