The Treasury Challenge favourites: Writing poems and then putting them in fascinating places in fascinating ways

This was a fun challenge.          I  l o v  e d   t h i s  s o   m u c h !!!

I think I will run it again next year. There were poems in ice and in the sand, and with word-biscuits, wire, twigs, bullets and thumb tacks.

I got to make a biscuit word-poem as I got given a bag of the biscuits when I visited Adventure School on the tour. I went back to the hotel, made the poem then ate a biscuit.Yummy biscuits! Cool idea!

As part of my tour, I also did beach poems with classes from Golden Sands School in Papamoa. It was a fabulous fun. I have posted some photos from the event below and the some of the wonderful poems they wrote when they got back to class. I loved this outing so much!

Thanks so much for sending me these. I loved every bit and bite of them all.

I have one $50 book voucher to give to one young poet and I am giving it to Yasmina from Mahana School in Nelson. Congratulations to all the poets I picked to post.

1. Gemma’s Smiley Face poem with homemade word biscuits

Dear Paula
Here is my poem for the fascinating place challenge…I made a smiley face with my cookie poetry in the kitchen.  Daniel’s class made a whole class poem with theirs.  I hope they send it to you!

Thank you from Gemma, age 8, year 4, Adventure School.

Note from Paula: I love the way the biscuit poems are both so playful!

Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 11.06.34 AM

2. Toni Bennett’s Room 1 at Adventure School  (Year 1 and 2). This poem, ‘Play With Your Words,’ was the mastermind of the Lovewell family, with Robyn making all the cookies. The children put together their own words to create a class poem.

Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 12.46.55 PM

 Play with your words

Poems smile at you

Playfully words jump around

Poems fall like leaves

Fast dragons carry words

Imagine then write on

Let words become dreams

Poems make paintings

Words fly really fas

Daniel is 5 and goes to Adventure School and tried to write his poem in the ice before the ice melted. It is beautiful poem. It must have looked great.

Screen shot 2014-10-10 at 9.32.45 AM Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 9.10.12 am

Yasmina’s ‘Where Am I?’ She goes to Mahana School in Nelson and is aged 9. I adore the pop-out words in this poem. Read it aloud and you will hear them. A poem can not only look good but sound good too! I love the image it builds and the little story it tells too!

Yasminas tree poem

Bradley’s ‘Bullet Poem.’ He goes to Mahana School in Nelson and is aged 10. This poem also has pop-out lines (‘As I sprint the lead splinters’) This was Bradley wrote to me:

Dear Paula,
I have done a poem in a fascinating place for your competition.
It was interesting and exciting to write the stuff I like. The wind kept blowing my shotgun shells away and they would then roll into the others! I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 10.44.38 AM

Jonathan is aged 11 and also goes to Mahana School. He used wire to make his poem which must have been hard work. I love this portrait of wire — in the poem and in the photo of the poem.

Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 10.54.23 AM  Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 10.54.39 AM Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 10.54.57 AM Screen shot 2014-11-19 at 10.55.08 AM

Here is Imogen’s ‘Beach’ poem. She is 8 and goes to Kenakena School and is in Year 4. I love the poem scratched in the sand. The words are so beautifully chosen.

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.39.11 PM

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.39.27 PMScreen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.39.37 PM

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.39.48 PM

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.40.04 PM

Screen shot 2014-10-05 at 3.40.15 PM

The Beach
There at sunset
The sandy sand
The cold violent waves
The beautiful view of Kapiti Island
The tall steep sand dunes.
Ewen W is aged 12 and is in Year 7 at Cobham Intermediate School, Christchurch.
This is what she told me about her beautiful poem ‘Stain.’This must have been extremely hard work. The light would have shimmerd on the colours.

Hi Paula,

I wrote my poem using thumbtacks and although it was hard, it was really fun. This is my favourite challenge so far! Thanks for making it.

Stain
Ink blots
stain
the paper,
like
a tear
stains the
heart.

heartInk  stain

the

paper

like

a

tear

tear

stains

the

heart

And finally the photos and poems from the Hot-Spot-Poetry-Tour beach event at Papamoa with Golden Sands School and the wonderful Lynley Skiffington

unnamed photo 1 (4) Beach Poems 4 Beach poems 1 Sergio with rock Beach Poems 3 Beach poem 2

2 thoughts on “The Treasury Challenge favourites: Writing poems and then putting them in fascinating places in fascinating ways

Leave a Reply

